205 Books: What the Day Owes the Night

My Algerian book, What the Day Owes the Night, was due at my local library on October 10th but actually arrived quite a bit earlier than that. As a result, I’ve already read it. And I am pleased to say I enjoyed it quite a bit more than the first two books of my challenge.

daycover.jpgIt is set partly during the Algerian war for independence but covers the ground with a bit more subtlety than was achieved in 1One Thousand Splendid Suns.

There were a couple of things that seemed a bit contrived or unlikely but overall it was a great story with a well-rounded cast of secondary characters and a nice sense of place.

And I have to say that the translation seemed to be much better than that provided for The Fall of the Stone City. It is impossible to tell for sure, of course, because the Stone City may have been dry and awkward in Albanian (or French, or whatever language it was in) as well.

So, all in all, book number 3 of Around the World in 205 Books was a definite step up. Next… Andorra. I’ll let you know a short list shortly, and it is a list that picks itself.

Leave a Reply

