205 Books: A Thousand Splendid Suns

9780747582977 Yesterday, I finished reading A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. The first of my 205 books is out of the way. And I have to say, after all the hype received by this book and The Kite Runner I was a bit disappointed. (Spoilers will follow.)

For me, a large part of the story seemed like backstory. And the part that felt like it should have been the real story, after Laila moves in with Mariam and Rasheed, is very episodic. The story skips years at a time, then we have one short chapter which seems more about a quick history lesson than the story itself. And even with that, Mariam’s father turns up at one point, but we don’t find out about that important event until ten or more years later through a flashback when something else happens.

To make things worse, I was about to see just about everything coming from a long way off.

Look, I suppose A Thousand Splendid Suns was easy enough to read but it really didn’t draw me in as much as I felt it should, given the book’s reputation and the subject matter.

So, there it is, the first review. If you’ve read the book, let me know what you thought because apparently a lot of people did like it.

Next country in line is Albania and, at this stage, it will probably be something from Ismail Kadare. That may depend, again, on what I can get from my local library. Again, comments and suggestions are more than welcome…

Leave a Reply

