Poetry (Day 71): Below

onion-697201_640

     Below

 

I believed them when
they told me that
she is deep, like
the ocean.

But, apparently,
the deepest part of the ocean
is just dark and wet.
The fish are strange
and few and far between.

I believed them when
they told me that
she has layers, like
an onion.

But, apparently,
each layer of an onion,
looks and tastes
the same as the one before.
And when I go below the surface
it makes me cry.

I believed them when
they told me that
I should take a chance,

but, apparently,
depth and layers
are no guarantee.

4 thoughts on “Poetry (Day 71): Below

Leave a Reply

