Poetry (Day 47): Superheroes

William Tyrrell is a little boy, about 4 0r 5 years old now, who disappeared from a verandah at the back of his grandmother’s (I think) house about 18 months ago and hasn’t been seen since. Nothing.

I think it is impossible for anyone to imagine how William’s family must feel unless they have gone through the same thing. But I have three young kids of my own, so every time I see a story about William, or about Madeline McCann (who went missing just before my wife and I went on our honeymoon to Europe) or even about Daniel Morcombe (even though his remains have been found and someone sent to prison) it is painful. It is horrible just thinking about it.

I read another story about William today, and is showed a picture of him in his favourite Spiderman costume.

So, this one is for William and his family and anyone in a similar situation.

 

      Superheroes
(for William Tyrrell)

 

Spiderman,
where did you go?
I never knew you but
your web still clings,
reminding me
of my own superheroes.
And I wonder,
could I save myself
if they were gone?

Leave a Reply

