A really short review– The Folding Knife by KJ Parker

I believe I may have noted previously that I’m a big fan of KJ Parker. I will blindly buy anything s/he has written. The Folding Knife hasn’t changed that but…

A lot of the things I’ve come to expect can be found in this novel. The wit and stylish writing and the interesting characters in interesting situations. But this one lacked a bit in the way of plot. I mean, stuff happens, but it isn’t until 2/3 of the way through (or something like that) that we actually get to the point of what’s happening. Not even that, it’s 2/3 of the way before there is a point. Up until then it’s a story about The First Citizen of a city state and his efforts to stay in power and become even more rich. The trouble is there’s no driving force. There’s just this stuff happening.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, for the reasons stated above. But I certainly don’t think it is one of Parker’s better works.

One thought on “A really short review– The Folding Knife by KJ Parker

  1. Pingback: Review: The Company by KJ Parker | Wonders Never Cease

Leave a Reply

