Whoosh

Douglas Adams once said– (okay, he may have said it more than once– I don’t know. That isn’t the point so just shut up and let me finish.) Douglas Adams said on at least one occasion (and I may be paraphrasing here), “I love deadlines, they make a wonderful whooshing sound as they go past.”

So yes, Shadow of the Dragon was supposed to be finished by January 10th and today, last time I checked, was most definitely later than then. And no, it isn’t finished. But I would like to point out that it isn’t not finished because I’ve been lazy. It’s just because there’s more of the story left than I thought.

I went camping on the weekend, and before that I was averaging about 1200 words a day. I am now about 5k words past the length I thought the book was going to be a month ago. So it’s a good thing. The book is coming along and it will obviously be fabulous– more fabulous than expected simply because there will be more of it. That’s how these things work.

Now, back to work.

Leave a Reply

