The Road Not Taken

The Brightest Light just received another great review. Go and see it here, but not until after you finish reading my wonderful blog, of course.

Every good review is a wonderful thing. I’d probably be thrilled with mediocre reviews as it means somebody’s read my book and didn’t hate it. But I don’t really have one of those yet. The closest I have it this one for The Space Between from  Sean over at the Bookonaut, but even it’s pretty good, really.

But for all the nice reviews, there still aren’t a lot of sales. I didn’t expect to become a millionaire after a few months, and I know it’s all about patience, waiting for word to spread, waiting for momentum to build but… well, I wanted to be a millionaire after a few months.

So, I’ve been thinking about what I’d do if one of the big publishers came along and offered me a contract for The Brightest Light or Tribes of the Hakahei. If they offered me a million dollars, I’d take it. Quickly.

But the standard advance which is about $5000 dollars. Or maybe less now. That’s a tough one.

It would be nice to be able to walk into a book store and see my book on a shelf. But, of course, it would probably only be on the shelf for a few weeks. And it would be a cover I didn’t choose. And possibly a title I didn’t choose.

I’m not sure that those things really matter in the end though. I wouldn’t turn a deal down because of those things. But apparently, according to people who look into these sorts of things, publishers are designing contracts that pretty much tie up books for as long possible, even if they don’t intend to do anything beyond the first print run.

This isn’t just from one source. Kris Rusch is always talking abut this type of thing on her blog. And it’s pretty popular over at Mad Genius Club as well. And they are all people who know more about this type of thing than me.

But… My book. On a shelf.

Honestly, I have no idea what I would do. I know I’d read the contract carefully. And, these days, I might get someone else to read it for me as well.

It’s nice to dream though. Just the offer would be a thing to celebrate. And whatever way I went, I think I would probably spend the rest of my life wondering if I made the right decision. Of course, if my choice made me rich, then I’ll think I made the right choice, that’s easy. But if I don’t get rich.. Would it have been better going the other way?

The road not taken is always the one you miss the most.

Leave a Reply

