Review – In the House of Five Dragons

Okay, so I made a… promise? Pact? I made a thingy that I would review every indie book I read, seeing I want others to review the indie books that I write. So here I am with my first ever review. And the lucky winner is… (well, not much use trying to create suspense when i put the book title up the top there).

In the House of Five Dragons by Erica Lindquist and Aron Christensen.

And to tell the truth, I’m not quite sure about this one. I mean, I finished it, and I wanted to know what happened, and… But let me start elsewhere.

The premise for this story is good. I like it. Long lost hero, Rikard Mazrem, returns to find that his selfless act helped create an empire. But he slowly comes to realize that things aren’t as they should be. And in the mean time, a young thief, Thianna, is sent by her superiors to take control of Rikard in any way she can.

The setting is interesting enough, if nothing amazing, and the characters are well drawn. Even the minor characters manage to stand on their own. The magic system is a big plus. It’s original (as far as my reading goes) and plays an important part in the plot.

And the writing itself is pretty good though, again, nothing amazing. It isn’t always as smooth as it might be, is sometimes “noticeable”, though overall I don’t think that detracted from my enjoyment of the story.

So, from all of that, you might think I was giving In the House of Five Dragons a star for each dragon. But I just can’t because… well… it’s so damn slow.

There are so many things that might have been done, that might have been taken further. There’s mention of political intrigue, but we don’t see more than the bare minimum ourselves. There’s the House of the Five Dragons which we really don’t know all that much about, despite it being in the title of the book. The romance finally comes into play at the same time as the action, which isn’t until we’re 80% (or more) of the way through the book. I kept waiting for the action to come, I kept waiting for things to start happening. And when it finally did, it all seemed to be over very quickly (and in a not entirely believable manner in terms of the way angry mobs generally act).

In short, I really felt that the book was way too long for the story it actually contained. For all the good ideas and writing and characterization it would have been greatly improved if a third (or half?) of the words had been trimmed.

So, like I said at the start, I finished the book, kept reading because I wanted to know what happened, enjoyed it to an extent, but I can only give In the House of Five Dragons 3 ½ Stars. It isn’t expensive, it isn’t a bad read, it just think it could have been so much more (or less).

I got this book for free through the Kindle Select program. If you want to give it a shot, the Kindle edition can be purchased here

So there you have it. My first review.

Leave a Reply

