The Agony and the Ecstasy

After years of slogging away at novels with no reward beyond the reward of actually finishing it’s interesting to release them to the world.

I gave away The Space Between and about 2,500 downloaded it. I was pretty happy with that. But only about 15 people liked it enough to make a donation so they could get their hands on Singing Other Worlds. Some people donated $10. Others donated $2. I was happy with anything that I received. And I think everyone donated for When the Time Comes as well.

But now I’ve put them up on Amazon. The possible audience has grown immeasurably, but getting noticed amongst everything else is difficult. Where do I go to get my books noticed? How do you go from people reading your add to clicking on the link to go and have a look?

Amazon has an option to give a book away for free for up to five days every 3 months. Book 1 was downloaded about 200 times and books 2 and 3 had a few sales after that. Seeing A Different Kind of Heaven is not yet available I’ve been hoping there will be a jump in sales for all of the books when that comes out (which will hopefully happen near the end of next month).

But yesterday I put up The Brightest Light. It’s a stand-alone that is loosely linked the the Tribes of the Hakahei. it’s a fast paced action story with flying islands, flintlock weaponry, ‘magical’ crystal machines that run everything from coffee machines to biplanes and the huge engines that keep the skylands in the air. I think it’s a good story and it’s probably more commercial than the other stuff I’ve written (though still a bit unusual).

It’s been available to the world for a couple of days now but nobody has bought it yet. I don’t even know if anyone has looked at the page on Amazon (they should add that feature).

So now I’ve got to try something to get some attention. I’ve got some short stories on Amazon as well, so I thin I’ll make them free in a couple of days and hope it leads to some sales for the other books.

If you don’t have a Kindle you can make a donation via Paypal (link to that is at http://www.scottjrobinson.com) and make a note of what book you want.

You can see all my books listed at http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=hakahei

So, at least go and have a look and if anything looks at all interesting, think of supporting a struggling artist. Getting books out into the world is great, though it also hurts a bit if nobody buys any. The agony and the ecstasy.

4 thoughts on “The Agony and the Ecstasy

  1. Hi Scott! You could always take a risk and get your book reviewed. Websites such as Crowsnest get requests from publishers to write a review which then gets published on the web site. The risk is that the reviewer might not like the book and write a bad review. However, having read the first three books in the series I think you would be very unlucky to get a bad review. Its just another way of getting the book noticed.

    • Andy

      I have asked someone. Beth from the Ebook Apothecary will be having a read fairly soon, I think. Which will be good. If there’s anyone else out there who wants to do a review, they are certainly welcome… Though I should possible go and ask some more people properly.

      And I’m glad you liked the 3 Hakahei books. The first draft o 4 is done and I’m working through edits on the paper file. Hopefully it won’t be too much longer.

  2. Hi! I’m guessing you’ve figured some of this out since April. I found The Space Between via one of the websites I follow that finds free ebooks (Pixel of Ink or Ereader News Today) so that’s a good way to get attention. Also, you said “If you don’t have a Kindle you can make a donation via Paypal (link to that is at http://www.scottjrobinson.com) and make a note of what book you want.” You can also download a free reader from Amazon that allows you to read on your computer. I’m not sure if this link will work, but here you go: http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=kcp_pc_mkt_lnd?docId=1000426311
    I’m really enjoying these books, just finished book 2 last night. 🙂 Keep up the good work.

    • Hi Monica.

      Yes, I know about the Kindle apps for just about everything (I have one on my ipod). I know I don’t like reading novels on a computer so I’d never be able to suggest someone else did it. Horrible way to read books (though I do know people who do it, oh well.)

      Glad you are enjoying the books. The last one will be ready to go soon.

Leave a Reply

