The Game Of Love

For a while now I’ve been thinking about the generally accepted fact that boys have trouble expressing their emotions. Yes, it’s a generalisation but can be useful. Anyway, I was thinking about this because of my son. He’s only two years old so it’s a bit early to know if he will have the problem and go around hitting the girls that he likes, but I though I’d do something about it anyway.

So last night my wife and I played a ‘game’ with out kids where we named somebody that we love and say why we love them. The biggest surprise was Bayli, who turns 4 fairly soon.

I went first and said, “I love mummy because she makes great dinners.”

After that one example Bayli said, “I love Noah because he helps me pack away the toys.” Her next turn she said, “I love Munulla (her grandmother) because she lets me watch TV in the mornings.” Then, “I love nanny because she looks after me when you are away.”

I’m not sure if any of this is unusual but it surprised me quite a bit.

I have to say, Noah actually surprised me a bit as well. He didn’t really get the game right, but he didn’t just copy other people and did come up with some ‘reasons’. He apparently loves everyone because they go on the computer. Oh well, we do have a bit of time. And seeing they both wanted to play the game again tonight instead of a story (normally telling them there won’t be a story is a dire threat) he might be getting the idea pretty soon.

Like I said, I don’t know if there would have a been a problem anyway, but I think this is a nice thing to do anyway, just for its own sake.

Leave a Reply

