New Words, Old Words

I know a lot of writers who do something like write new stuff in the morning then edit in the afternoons. Of course, doing that is a lot easier if you have both morning and afternoons free for writing. Either way, I think it would take me some time to get used to the idea of doing that.

At the moment I’m editing When the Time Comes. Before that I was editing Singing Other Worlds. So that’s a lot of sustained editing.

But then, a couple of weeks ago, I decided I needed to add a chapter to WtTC to build on the Cuto character a bit. It took me forever to get into the rhythm of writing new stuff. It took me about a week to write 2000 words, which I could do in a couple of hours if I was on a roll.

Then I went back to editing. Until I needed another new chapter.

And it was back to the start with the new writing rhythm.

It’s always been that way for me. One task at a time– yes, let’s have all the jokes about men not being able to multitask.

If I ever made enough money form this writing thing to do it for a living I think I’d have to learn to switch between editing and drafting a lot quicker. It wouldn’t be possible for me to do one or the other for a full day– not on a regular basis anyway-. Something that might help is if I was working on two stories at one. Write book 2 in the morning , edit book 1 in the afternoon. It would have to be that way around as I write much better in the mornings.

Years ago, when I was single, I used to leave for work an hour early in the mornings and I’d sit in a park with my laptop. I was regularly writing 1000-1500 words. Not only did I get lots of writing done, I also enjoyed my work much more. Or, at least, I could more easily ignore the fact that I didn’t like my job. Crap was a lot easier to take when I’d already had a productive day.

Now, most morning, I just want to sleep in. Damn those kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

