Keeping Score

The meaning of the following paragraph will be revealed…

The Pittsburgh Penguins won two straight games without captain Sidney Crosby recently. Crosby was there to watch the games in Florida but will be staying behind to see his chiropractor. And I’m sure his puppy will be glad when he gets back– especially if his balance problems are sorted and he can throw the ball for games of fetch. I can’t see it happening. Crosby will be retiring before the end of the season, leaving a big whole in the Penguins’ roster.

I’m guessing a lot of people won’t know much about Sidney Crosby, his chiropractor or his puppy. I certainly don’t. In fact, I don’t know if Crosby has a puppy. Before two minutes ago when I went to the Pittsburgh Penguins website and read the first article I found, I didn’t even know who Crosby was.

But, you see, apparently I’ve influenced a few people when it comes to the subject of the Penguins and puppies. That’s according to Klout.

For those of you who don’t know about Klout either, it’s a website that claims it keeps track of who influences who on the internet and what subjects they influence them on.

I’ve signed up, more out of curiosity than anything else. I thought my score would be low, and it is. But apparently people listen to me when I talk about the Pittsburgh Penguins (ice hocky, BTW) and puppies. And why wouldn’t they? I especially like the use of the word ‘roster’. Sounded like I knew what I was talking about, didn’t it?

So now Klout, like best seller lists and bank account figures, is just another scoring system that is meaningless for writers. Unless, of course, the score show that we’re winning, and then we’ll be shouting from the rooftops that it’s the greatest system ever. I mean, surely, JK Rowling and Stephanie Meyer are a billion times better than any other writer on the planet, aren’t they? Aren’t they?

2 thoughts on “Keeping Score

    • Hi Jeyna

      I think it’s interesting to look at occasionally, but linking me to ice hockey in any way shows that is shouldn’t be relied upon for anything other than amusement. But I’ll kept going back to see when I’ve taken over the world 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

